Votes to iGP candidates show green roadmap for future, party thanks voters


(India Greens Party is registered with the Election Commission of India under Section 29A of the Representation of the People Act, 1951. Registration Number: 56/476/2018-19/PPS-I, effective from 18/07/2019.)

National Head Office: Greendham Anandi-Chait, Indra-Balbhadra Parisar, Unchir-Dunktok, Devprayag-Bubakhal State Highway-31, Patty-Idwalsyun, PO-Ghurdauri, Distt-Pauri Garhwal, Uttarakhand, INDIA. PIN-246194.
Email: Website:

Press Release

Issued at Greendham Uttarakhand on 5 June 2024

The India Greens Party (iGP), which fielded three candidates in three states of the country in the parliamentary election-2024, today thanked the voters for considering the party-candidates and giving their mandate to them.

The party lost the election in all three parliamentary constituencies – Mumbai North West (Maharashtra), South Delhi (NCT of Delhi) and Sangrur (Punjab) in the country.

Ms Harpreet Kaur, Co-President of the party, contested the Sangrur parliamentary seat in Punjab and got 1105 votes, managing 22nd position out of 23 candidates in the election.

Ms Sarika Dabral, Secretary-General of the party, contested the Mumbai North West parliamentary seat in Maharashtra and got 768 votes, managing 17th position out of 21 candidates in the fray.

Dr Biharilal Jalandhari, National Council member of the party, contested the South Delhi parliamentary seat in the NCT of Delhi and received 514 votes, managing 19th position out of a total 22 candidates in the parliamentary election.

The party gracefully accepts the voters’ verdict.

The party had fielded five candidates in the parliamentary election-2024 from three states; however, only three of them got approval from the Election Commission of India to contest.

The Election Commission of India had allotted “Apple” election symbol to all the party candidates.

Two of the five candidates were rejected by the ECI on flimsy grounds. Ms Shivani Bhatt, who filed her nomination papers from Mumbai North Central constituency in Maharashtra, and Suresh Nautiyal, who filed his nomination papers from New Delhi constituency in the NCT of Delhi, were rejected as candidates on some flimsy technical grounds.

The party had soft-launched its election manifesto – Charter of Hope – on 14 May, and released it on 18 May in a press conference at the Press Club of India.

Voting took place in these constituencies respectively on 20 May, 25 May and 1 June 2024.

The India Greens Party remains committed to change politics, not climate as it is the party with a pledge. The party leadership is of the belief that Green is the future, and the future is Green!

Issued by Suresh Nautiyal, Chief Spokesperson, India Greens Party