iGP congratulates Australian Greens for their “Greens-slide” victory in recent federal election


Press Statement

Unchir-Dunktok, Pauri Garhwal, Uttarakhand, 9 June 2022: The India Greens Party (iGP) today congratulated the Australian Greens for their “Greens-slide” victory in the federal election last month.

In a press statement issued here at the national head office (NHO), party’s Founder, Patron and Mentor Suresh Nautiyal said the Australian Greens’ historic victory in the federal election in May last has shown a path of hopefulness to the Green parties in several parts of the world. It has also given the confidence that the Earth will be in safe hands in the future.

iGP Co-President Rajendra Minj said the victory has inspired the Green parties in the developing world in particular.

On 21 May 2022 Australia held elections for the Federal Government, which resulted in a change of government. The Liberal – National Coalition had been the party of government since 2013.  This Coalition government was rejected by the majority of voters in Australia in 2022; it lost many seats, and the new government was formed by the Labour Party (centre-left or centre), led by Anthony Albanese, who has since become Australia’s Prime Minister. 

This time, the voters backed the Greens in record numbers (approximately two-million-people voted for Greens) delivering a massive mandate for action on climate and inequality.

According to David Feith & Andrew Morrison, International Co-Secretaries, Australian Greens, the Greens did well in this election, and considerably increased the number of Greens Members of Parliament (MPs).  In the House of Representatives (the house that forms government) the Greens increased their number from one (Adam Bandt, Member for Melbourne, Leader of the Australian Greens) to four.  The new MPs are all from Queensland: Elizabeth Watson-Brown (Member for Ryan), Max Chandler-Mather (Member for Griffith), and Steven Bates (Member for Brisbane). 

The Australian Greens leader Adam Bandt hailed the election results as a “greens-slide” as the Greens recorded its best ever election result. 

The Greens also increased their numbers in the Senate, from 9 to 12, with new Greens Senators from Queensland, New South Wales and South Australia. There are now a total of 16 Greens MPs in the Australian Parliament. 

Before the election, the Australian Greens had nine Senators, three of these were up for election again. The Greens won those three seats they already held, as well as three more! This means that the party now has 12 Senators out of 76, which is the best 3rd-party result in Australian history. Before the election, the Australian Greens had one House of Representatives MP (Adam Bandt, for the electorate of Melbourne). The Greens won that seat again, as well as three more!

Feith and Morrison said the former Liberal-National Coalition government was backward looking, supported the fossil fuel industries, and made up of climate change deniers and sceptics.  They abolished the carbon pricing mechanism established by the former Labour Government, led by Prime Minister Julia Gillard, and were very reluctant to set even modest carbon emission reduction targets.  This new government can only be better! 

Structure of the Australian federal system is that it has two Houses of Parliament — the House of Representatives (the Lower House) –151 MPs, one per electorate, and the Senate (the Upper House) — 76 Senators, 12 per state and 2 per territory. Usually, a federal election elects all House of Representative MPs (151), the 2 Senators for each of the 2 territories, and 6 (half) of the Senators from each state. So, 40 Senators are elected each election.

Australia uses preferential voting system. This means that the voters number the candidates in their order of preference. When the votes are being counted, the candidate with the lowest number of first preference votes is eliminated, and their votes are distributed based on their voters’ second preferences, and this is repeated. Because the House of Representatives has single-member electorates, this continues until one candidate has 50% +1 of the total number of votes.

Issued from the NHO of the India Greens Party.


(India Greens Party is registered with the Election Commission of India under Section 29A of the Representation of the People Act, 1951. Registration Number: 56/476/2018-19/PPS-I, effective from 18/07/2019.)

National Head Office: GreenDham AnandiChait, IndraBalbhadra Parisar, Unchir-Dunktok, SH-31, PO-Ghurdauri, Distt-Pauri Garhwal, Uttarakhand, INDIA. PIN-246194.Email: contact@indiagreensparty.org Website: https://indiagreensparty.org